Estee Lauder Projectionist vs Benefit They’re Real – Mascara Review

Ola Ladies, It’s me again and this time I’m doing a comparison between an old love and a new one… no, not the boy variety, been married for 12 years and all that :P .. rather this is a show down between two mascara’s ..one brand that I’ve been using since i was 18 and the other fairly recently.

Now my love affair with Estee Lauder started when I was 18, fresh out of high school and into college and with a part-time job at hand, I finally had money to spend. Anyways I can still remember my first Estee Lauder purchase, I was shopping in Sunway Pyramid with a friend (Jasmin Sheila Gomez if you’re reading this, I’m sure you can remember the day too,right?!!) and I saw that Estee Lauder was having a blockbuster sale… Blockbuster what !!! Yea, me too ,anyway for those of you who have no idea what a Estee Lauder Blockbuster Set is… this is the time to find out. Basically at the end of every year Estee Lauder launches their Blockbuster Set which is a wonderful assortment of their beauty products at an affordable price, the only catch is to purchase the set at a discounted price, you’ll first have to purchase a minimum of some regular priced items.

Estee Lauder Blockbuster Set 2010

Estee Lauder Blockbuster Set 2010

My first purchase was a bottle of Pleasures and that entitled me to get my first ever Blockbuster set, the year was 1997 and I was a proud owner of my first ‘premium’ brand of make up products. Needless to say, that great experience left me in absolute adoration of EL and charted my path of make-up products ever since.

Now 16 years down the road and 4 blockbuster sets later, I may have broadened my beauty portfolio but I still use some Estee Lauder products quite faithfully.

My Blockbuster Set from 2007

My Blockbuster Set from 2007

My Blockbuster Set from 2010

My Blockbuster Set from 2010

Amazing right!!! So now for those of you keen to try a Blockbuster set for yourself, don’t forget to scan the Malaysian Dailies especially The Star for announcements come mid-November.

Ok, so back to the subject matter at hand. Today I’m going to show you how my Projectionist Mascara compares to Benefit’s They’re Real.  I picked up a bottle of They’re Real as part of Cosmobox’s Curator’s Note Redemption. Whilst not full size (0.3 oz) it’s a generous 0.1oz so this baby can last for more than a few applications.

The contenders - Estee Lauder Projectionist and Benefit They're Real Mascara

The contenders – Estee Lauder Projectionist and Benefit They’re Real Mascara

Now I picked up this bottle of Projectionist – High Definition Volume Mascara during a trip to Jakarta last year where you can get samples/gift set items of high-end products for a fraction of the cost. I generally prefer to buy smaller bottle of mascara because since becoming a full-time stay at home mom three years ago, I don’t go out much let alone attend too many glitzy events that call for mascara.

Hishop 037 Hishop 038

Estee Lauder’s Projectionist – High Definition Volume Mascara has a cone-shaped brush with densely packed bristles. This mascara is not waterproof but definitely packs a punch by giving good volume.

Before EL Projectionist

Before EL Projectionist

After EL Projectionist

After EL Projectionist

OK so the good news is that this mascara does not clump and separates the lashes quite well, it also elongates the lashes giving it volume and intensity. So what does Benefit’s They Real do for my lashes..check it out

Before Benefit's They're Real

Before Benefit’s They’re Real

After Benefit's They're Real

After Benefit’s They’re Real

So this is me with a different mascara on each eye !!! Can you tell the difference ?

So this is me with a different mascara on each eye !!! Can you tell the difference ?

Hands down Benefit’s They’re Real is a big winner,the jet-black mascara does a great job of lengthening, curling, and volumizing my lashes for a spectacular “out-to-here” look.   Benefit’s They’re Real mascara features a specially designed brush with staggered bristles that grab close to the root, boosting length and volume beyond belief. The custom-domed tip uses precision bristles to lift, define, and curl even your tiniest lashes. With a glossy, jet-black, l soong-wearing formula, you’ll flaunt luxurious, silky lashes that won’t smudge, clump, or dry out.  Whilst this mascara is also not water-proof or smudge-proof, it’s has a long lasting formula. Personally this works for me, so far I haven’t had any issues with it flaking and keeps through the whole day.

Benefit’s They’re Real retails for RM 90 and is available at all Benefit outlets nationwide. As for the Estee Lauder Projectionist , EL has discontinued the line but they have a whole new range available. For more information on both the amazing brands, check out their links below

Estee Lauder : http://www.esteelauder.my/

Benefit :  https://www.facebook.com/BenefitCosmeticsMalaysia

OK, so this is it for now, am working on clearing out my beauty product stash one by one.. so do look forward to more product reviews soon :)

4 thoughts on “Estee Lauder Projectionist vs Benefit They’re Real – Mascara Review

  1. Ah, I bought my first EL Blockbuster set last year. All because I wanted that Michael Kors makeup bag. Hehehe. But I remember mom had a blue one from circa 95-97 (iThink)

    It’s refreshing to see more product reviews on your blog. Keep it up!

  2. Thanks Laura…and you’re so right… I am such a big sucker for the bags too. In fact the make up travel bag from 2007 is by far the best,sturdiest and the roomiest I’ve seen ( I have 2..swapped by 2010 bag with mom’s 2007) But when I purchased my first in 97, it did not come in a bag but instead a big faux tortoise-shell tray, which I still have to this day… was kinda cool too.

  3. Awww man.. The Blockbuster set has been in my wishlist for the longest time.. Always told myself to get one but end up procrastinating! Haha.. This year I gota get it!

    Anyway, I have both mascaras and I totally agree with you. Benefit’s They’re Real wins hands down. It’s definitely my go-to mascara and my absolute favourite to date! Can’t fault it, it’s the best mascara ever!

    Also notice that it doesn’t dry out as quick as other mascara (in this case compared to the EL one)

    Awesome review Sharon! Cheers!

    • You have to definitely!!! Seriously it’s so worth it ..and if you’re out and about most of the time, you’ll really make good use of all the items in a Blockbuster Set. And yes the Benefit Mascara works really well.. thanks for recommending I go get it..knowing me I would have put it off and then the offer would have expired like my b1f1 redemption for cupcake chic.

Leave a Reply

