Himalaya Herbals – Purifying Neem Foaming Face Wash

A couple of months ago I had the opportunity to make a trip to South India. Needless to say before my trip I did some serious list-making and top of that list was a visit to the Himalaya Stores.

Himalaya was launched in 1930 with the aim of providing “100% natural and safe products.” They have a wide range of personal care, baby care and health care products and all their products are prepared  the Ayurvedic way.

Whilst I didnt set out to buy any personal care products (was more interested in their health care range) I actually ended up buying a lot of things simply because most of its products were roughly 1/3 of the price back home in Malaysia.

Healthcare stash !!!

Healthcare stash !!!

IMG_5460

Personal Care Stash !!!

One of the items I did end up purchasing was their latest release, the Purifying Neem Foaming Face Wash. The Purifying Neem range is one of their bestsellers and the foaming cleanser being their newest offering. According to the sales lady who sold it to me, it helps prevents pimples a statement that was further backed up by a female cousin who swears by it.

IMG_5465

Purifying Neem Foaming Face Wash

So anyway even though I stopped breaking out quite a while ago,I was game enough to try out a new cleanser.  At 75 Rps ( that’s a little less than RM 5) for 50ml  it was a steal.

only 75 Rps!!!

only 75 Rps!!!

The liquid is pale green. I was hoping the colour was natural but unfortunately it was aided by Brilliant Blue FCF (Cl 42090) and Tartrazine (Cl 19140). Swinging back to the natural side, it’s main ingredients were extracts of Neem (Indian Lilac), Haridra (Turmeric) and Ushira(Vetiver).

IMG_5474

frothy white foam

One pump of the liquid gives you sufficient foam to wash your whole face. The foam is quite soapy and lathers well with a drop of water. Upon application, it does a really good job of washing grime and dirt off my skin, especially after a sweaty workout at the gym. I dont use this on regular days as it can be a bit drying but it works well if you’ve had a long day outdoors.

All in all, this product is definitely value for money. I have been using it off and on for the past 3 months and it’s still half full. My skin hasnt had any adverse reactions from using this product so that’s a plus. My only peeve would be that the fact that the top keeps unravelling every time I try to uncap the cover causing some spillage. Perhaps they’ll work on that in their future bottles. Having said that my rating would then be a 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

