Hada Labo – Water Based Hydrating Makeup Remover & Olive Oil Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

I love make up, especially eye makeup..be it eye liners, mascara or eye shadow. Now whilst I dont always apply make up with a heavy hand, sometimes a certain occasion calls for a more glam look. Having said that I have found over the years, a good make up remover is absolutely necessary primarily one that works well removing eye make up.

Hada Labo Makeup Removers

Hada Labo Makeup Removers

Enter my two current favorites – Hada Labo’s Water Based Hydrating Make Up Remover and Olive Oil Moisturizing Cleansing Oil. Hada Labo entered the Malaysian market a couple of years ago promoting Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion. At that time, my mom was really into facial care products that contained HA and promptly was one of their early users. So needless to she’s always giving me stuff and this is how I came to have not one but two make up removers.

Water Based Hydrating Makeup Remover

Water Based Hydrating Makeup Remover

The Water Based Hydrating Make Up Remover retails at RM 39.90 for 200ml and is meant for light make up and is housed in a clear bottle with a blue outer plastic covering giving it an illusion that it is blue in colour when it is actually clear. Since it is water based, it has an almost viscous texture, rather like liquid gel. It has no added fragrance but does have a very mild smell. 2 or 3 pumps of the liquid is sufficient to remove make up from your entire face. You can add water to emulsify the liquid but I just use mine as it is. I have found that when you want to remove stubborn eye make, pumping a small amount onto a piece of cotton makes it easier to remove. Washing off is easy and there is no soapy after effect.

Olive Oil Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

Olive Oil Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

On the other hand the Olive Oil Moisturizing Cleansing Oil which retails at RM 49.90 for 200ml is for heavy make up and water-proof mascara. The liquid is also clear but housed in a clear bottle with a pale yellow outer plastic covering giving the impression of olive oil. The liquid is runny and feels a little oily on direction application to the palms. Once again this can be used as is or with a little water. This product also washes off easily but it leaves a mild sheen on my face, not oily as my hands are perfectly fine afterwards but just a gentle healthy shine.

I did a swatch test with my 2 favourite eye liners, a liquid one and a cream based one as for me eye liners are the hardest to remove. Surprisingly the Water Based one worked better amongst the two.

Marks & Spencer Autograph Liquid Eye Liner & Himalaya Herbal Eye Definer Kajal Stick

Marks & Spencer Autograph Liquid Eye Liner & Himalaya Herbal Eye Definer Kajal Stick

2 Test Lines

Water Based Hydrating Makeup Remover takes it all off in less than three swipes

Water Based Hydrating Makeup Remover takes it all off in less than three swipes

After 3 swipes of the Oil Olive Moisturizing Cleansing Oil,the liquid eyeliner still remains

After 3 swipes of the Oil Olive Moisturizing Cleansing Oil,
the liquid eyeliner still remains

It took me another 3 swipes to get it all off...notice the slightly oily sheen it leaves behind

It took me another 3 swipes to get it all off…
notice the slightly oily sheen it leaves behind

My verdict : Whilst I absolutely like both of them quite frankly I prefer the water based one as it gets used more regularly and it leaves my skin feeling soft and supple. Would I repurchase? the answer would be yes, that is if I was totally out of make up removers. But as luck has it there’s a few more bottles of different brands sitting in my closet so it’s going to be sometime before I walk into a pharmacy to buy one.

Leave a Reply

