Cosmobox by Box Culture, December 2012

Today I finally received my Christmas Cosmobox. I received it late not on account of their delivery, it arrived on time; it was just that all my packages are mailed to my office and being employed by my father, daddy dearest delivered it along with the other boxes to mua today.

I set out to unbox the Cosmobox first for a number of reasons. I have been keeping a tab on their Facebook fan page quite closely these past few days trying to get a sneak peek on what I could expect. Unfortunately it only added to my confusion and doubt as they were quite a few unsatisfied subscribers who had received one of the six, yes 6 combinations of the Christmas Cosmobox.

At this point due to lack of picture updates, I have no idea if every item in the 6 combinations are different. In my opinion 6 combinations is quite tricky, all the more if every item in the box differs from all the other combinations. I say this because people being people tend to compare and here the value of the said boxes would be hard to pin down.

I personally like to be mildly surprised but not overly so. Having said that  Wonderbox has got it down well by only interchanging one item in their box to reflect the personality quiz. That definitely works for me as I pretty much like to receive what every one else is also receiving.

So anyway with my fingers crossed hoping for a ‘favorable’ box, I started unboxing this one first and here is what I got……

The box was neatly packed !!!

The box was neatly packed !!!

Cosmobox !!!

Cosmobox !!!

Beneath the outer slide cover, the actual box. It's really quite lovely and sturdy too.

Beneath the outer slide cover, the actual box. It’s really quite lovely and sturdy too.

Christmas Greetings on one side.....

Christmas Greetings on one side…..

....and the list of items and their full size retail value on the other side.

….and the list of items and their full size retail value on the other side.

Now finally for what was below !!!!

A slip envelope with some phamplets as well as a RM5 voucher for purchases above RM 50 at SOAP Artisan

A slip envelope with some pamphlets as well as a RM5 voucher for purchases above RM 50 at SOAP Artisan

IMG_5526

Ta da!!! And this was the combination I got….

This is what I received:

  1. Giorgio Armani, Acqua Di Goia Eau De Parfum 1.5 ml – RM 230 for 50ml and RM 310 for 100ml
  2. Eau Thermale Avene, Avene Sensitive White Whitening  Essence 15 ml – RM 179 for 50ml
  3. Eau Thermale Avene, Avene Sensitive White Whitening Fluid 15ml – RM 119 for 50ml
  4. Sebastian Light, Shampoo 10ml – RM 64 for 250ml
  5. Sebastian Light, Conditioner 10ml – RM 69 for 250ml
  6. Sebastian Hydre, Treatment 10ml – RM 89 for 150ml
  7. Soap Artisan, St Helen Mud Whitening Soap (weight not provided) – RM 25 for 100gm
A Snow Man Clip and a roll of red ribbon.

A Snow Man Clip and a roll of red ribbon.

The clip was a nice touch, my little girl absolutely loves it and it has joined her collection of Christmas clips. The ribbon is a bit iffy… not broad enough for me to wrap around gifts but will definitely come in handy when the kids and me set out to make bookmarks during art & craft time.

Avene Sensitive White Whitening Essence & Sensitive White Whitening Fluid

Avene Sensitive White Whitening Essence 15ml & Sensitive White Whitening Fluid 15ml

Acqua Di Gioia 1.5 ml - my vial was slightly more than half full...

Acqua Di Gioia 1.5 ml – my vial was slightly more than half full… must have leaked during delivery.

St. Helen Mud Whitening Soap - Oops the label was much bigger than the soap bar!!

St. Helen Mud Whitening Soap – Oops the label was much bigger than the soap bar!!

Sebastian - Light Shampoo 10ml, Light Conditioner 10ml and Hydre Treatment 10ml

Sebastian – Light Shampoo 10ml, Light Conditioner 10ml and Hydre Treatment 10ml

When I started this blog I told myself that I would try to stay as positive as possible while still maintaining the virtue of honesty in all my blog posts. I have always seen words as a means of encouragement rather than an avenue to discourage. In keeping to that this is what I have to say about what I received. Whilst I appreciate that each of the boxes were curated with our personality profile in mind, I still feel a little let down as there was not a single full sized item in my box.

I was also not keen on receiving sachet hair care samples and a miniature perfume vial. The soap was also not full size and there was no information on the sample weight. The only silver lining was the Avene skincare sample’s. Though it was not full size, it was much better than the rest of the items in my box.

My verdict : Whilst I would have loved to receive full sized items, that may not always be the case. Perhaps my expectation was too high this being a Christmas box and all…then again that is the thing with beauty boxes… you’ll never know what you’ll get, it is after all meant to be a surprise.

Leave a Reply

