Vanity Trove – Malaysian Debut Box

trove (tr v) n. A collection of valuable items discovered or found

Now tell me, which gal’ out there wouldn’t love to receive a trove full of beauty products. I do..whether it comes in a trove,box,pack or a good ol’ brown envelope, it puts a smile on my face each and every time.

Anyways when Vanity Trove, a Singaporean beauty box subscription service announced that it was debuting its Malaysian subscription service, my antennae popped up. At RM60, it was a little too steep compared to other beauty box subscriptions which were all below RM40.. .and so I was a little hesitant about purchasing one. Enter hubby who thought it might  make a good Valentine gift and he knew how much I enjoy doing these reviews so he set out to get me one.

Unfortunately he encountered a repeating glitch each time he tried to make the online payment. Even though the trove is priced at RM60, at the checkout page it reverted to SGD 25 ( which converts to RM64.36). Enter mua,who emailed Valerie, the lady spearheading VT’s Malaysian operation who assured me that it was a temporary glitch and would be sorted out. But boo-hoo when hubby finally got down to doing it a week later, he was still charged RM64.36. Anyways, long story short I emailed Valerie to find out why and she assured me a refund the difference. To be honest I havent checked with hubby to see if the money has come in.. will check and keep you updated.

So enough with all that… lets move on to the actual unboxing of the trove.

Package delivered by Kangaroo Express

Package delivered by Kangaroo Express

So the package arrives on time, in good condition. I rip open the plastic envelope to find a pretty trove.

Lovely sturdy trove, good for storing all your precious knick knacks.

Lovely sturdy trove, good for storing all your precious knick knacks.

Now the trove is quite lovely, but lets check out what’s below….

A lovely floral  box greeted me along with a selection of brochures

A lovely floral box greeted me along with a selection of brochures

Product Itemization with retail values.

Product Itemization with retail values.

Product Brochures from Oriks & Wella SP

Product Brochures from Oriks & Wella SP

Now for the best part….

Ta Da .... Vanity Trove Malaysian Debut Box

Ta Da …. Vanity Trove Malaysian Debut Box

So lets see what I received shall we?!!!

  1. Wella SP Repair Shampoo, 30ml – RM 65 for 250ml (RM7.80)
  2. Wella SP Repair Mask, 30ml – RM 100 for 200ml (RM15.00)
  3. Oriks Wild Ginseng Stemcell Twister Essence, 5ml – RM 218 for 35ml (RM31.15)
  4. Oriks Wild Ginseng Stemcell Essence Twister BB Cream, 2ml X 2 – RM 108 for 35ml (RM12.35)
  5. B.Liv Off With Those Heads Blackheads Sebum Gel, 3ml – RM 139 for 30ml (RM13.90)
  6. Benefit POREfessional, 7.5ml – RM 115 for 225ml (RM3.80)
  7. Di Palomo Tuscan Rose Enriching Hand & Nail Cream, 25ml – RM 59 for 75ml (RM 19.70)

I also received a pretty floral box containing 2 pieces of Merci chocolates. Sweet Touch!!!

Wella SP Repair Shampoo & Repair Mask.

Wella SP Repair Shampoo 30ml & Repair Mask 30ml.

Oriks Twister Essence

Oriks Twister Essence 5ml

Oriks Twister Essence B.B Cream

Oriks B.B Cream 2ml X2

B.Liv Off With Those Heads Blackheads Sebum Gel

B.Liv Off With Those Heads Blackheads Sebum Gel

Benefit POREfessional

Benefit POREfessional

Di Palomo Tuscan Rose Enriching Hand & Nail Cream

Di Palomo Tuscan Rose Enriching Hand & Nail Cream

Vanity Trove included 7 beauty products in their debut trove, good move…..however this being a debut trove and all I would have expected to see at least 1 full-sized item. A lot of other beauty box subscriptions try to include at least one, some do more, so when I received sample sizes, I was a little disappointed.

But lets put my feelings out of the picture for a bit and do the math…. I like numbers so this is my favourite part. According to my calculation of ml/retail estimate price the contents of the trove come to a total of RM103.70. Not bad, not quite double the value of RM 60 but close.

Now then, so would I repurchase? Perhaps, not right now. I really like to get a good return on my investment and yes I do consider beauty boxes an investment,an investment on better skin and beauty care. But at RM 60 and no full-sized products, I may give this beauty subscription service a miss for the time being but I will certainly be keeping tabs 🙂

Until later…have a great week ahead!!!!

P/S : If anyone of you has subscribed for the subsequent VT’s do let me know what you think… would love to read your reviews!!!

One thought on “Vanity Trove – Malaysian Debut Box

  1. We’re currently collaborating with VanityTrove to create an exclusive, customized trove worth RM100 each instead of the usual RM50. Instead of the usual beauty products, we’re adding a touch of our own by giving away fashion accessories in the trove as well. Win one absolutely for free this Mother’s Day by sending a photo of you and your mother to frockon9@gmail.com and further instructions will be given on how you can win. Good luck!

    -www.frock-on.com

Leave a Reply

