MUA Review & GIVEAWAY

Ola ladies…..

I hope you’ve been having an AMAZING week so far and that it will be only get better for all of you. Today, I sat myself down and decided it was finally time to announce my first ever GIVEAWAY!!!! I’m calling it the Perfectly Pink Giveaway as I’ve chosen a selection of cosmetics that are delightfully fun and fresh.

Remember I mentioned that MUA – Make Up Academy, a British homegrown cosmetics company was going to reward its customers with 50% of all items on their online website as well as free International Delivery. I was one of those who simply could not pass up on this offer and so did some online retail therapy and found myself purchasing 36 items for a total after discounts of GBP 25.99 (RM 123.00) Now for me that was a steal as I really wanted to try some of MUA much talked about beauty products.

MUA has been making waves with the younger crowd in UK and many other parts of the world because they offer good quality make up products for a fraction of the price compared to some other cosmetic lines. Personally I’ve tried their lipstick, eyeliners and nail varnishes and I think it’s really value for money. They currently have 2 ranges MUA and MUA Professional. The MUA range is priced at GBP 1 whilst its Professional range can be purchased mostly under GBP 4 with some make pallets costing between GBP 6-8.

Ok…now to what I got!!! So pictures already 🙂

Big Bulky Package Delivered via Royal Mai and Pos Malaysia locally

Big Bulky Package Delivered via Royal Mai and Pos Malaysia locally

Inventory list - 36 items

Inventory list – 36 items

All items fresh out of the envelope... looking good so far

All items fresh out of the envelope… looking good so far

MUA Haul !!! Yay...everything arrived in super excellent condition

MUA Haul !!! Yay…everything arrived in super excellent condition

  •  3 eyeshadow palettes – Poptastic & Glitterball
  •  6 nail varnishes
  •  1 nail quake
  •  6 pressed powders
  •  3 blushers
  •  4 liquid eyeliners (regular,waterproof,felt and gel)
  •  2 pencil eyeliners
  • 1 mascara
  • 1 matte foundation
  • 1 concealer stick
  • 1 pair fake eyelashes
  • 7 lipsticks
Poptastic Eyeshadow Palette - so loving this!!

Poptastic Eyeshadow Palette – so loving this!!

Check out those super colours

Check out those super colours

I absolutely loved their Poptastic Eye Shadow Palette. Initially after reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried it would look too garish, but surprise, these suited my dark skin tone beautifully, colours were pigmented and stayed on all night though I reckon using an eye primer beforehand makes application all the more smoother.

Lovely choice of colours for both day & night use.

Lovely choice of colours for both day & night use.

 

Glitterball Eyeshadow Palette - Another big hit!!!

Glitterball Eyeshadow Palette – Another big hit!!!

The Glitterball Palette was equally great….loved their choice of glittery colours, which works for all skin tones. Definitely a favourite 🙂

Pressed Powders

Pressed Powders

MUA Lipcolours also come with a pot of matching lipgloss

MUA Lipsticks also come with a pot of matching lipgloss

Swatch for Lipstick Shade 1 & 2

Swatch for Lipstick Shade 1 & 2

I liked their lipsticks, creamy and very pigmented. The colour stays on for hours. The only tricky thing is that quite a few of it are shimmery and can’t be carried off during the day, they are great for night use though. The 2 featured here as well as Lipstick Shade 4 are matte, so these are fine for all day use.

Waterproff Eyeliner

Waterproof Eyeliner

Pointed & stiff brush can create both fine and thicker lines

Pointed & stiff brush can create both fine and thicker lines

Gel Eyeliner comes with a bruch that stores in the cap

Gel Eyeliner comes with a brush that stores in the cap

Matte effect, great if you dont have a steady hand.

Matte effect, great if you dont have a steady hand.

I bought 4 eyeliners and have so far tested two. The first MUA’s Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Black was Excellent. The brush was stiff and a little curved, ideal for putting on fine lines. It dries up somewhat glossy and stays on for hours. This is great if you work long hours outdoors or if your eyes tend to water. You need makeup remover to get it off though.

The Gel Eyeliner in Underground I have mixed feelings about. It costs more that the liquid eyeliner but somehow does not really work for me. It created lines which were a little to broad to suit my taste and you need to keep a tissue in hand to constantly clean off the brush tip because the gel liners tends to clump up the brush. Great for those who don’t have a steady hand though. It takes longer to dry so you can take your time with application. Once dry it stays on, does not smudge and relatively easy to take off too.

Hide & Conceal Stick and Matter Perfect Foundation both in Almond

Hide & Conceal Stick and Matter Perfect Foundation both in Almond

Tried both the concealer stick and foundation, the good thing is that it works well with my skin tone, was a little worried that it would be too white against my darker skin tone… but both items blended well…. The only boo boo though is that I felt my skin looked really dry after application. I don’t know if it’s because I skipped moisturizing before applying the foundation. Havent tried it again to confirm the above observation, so will keep you posted on this one.

Ok so details on the Giveaway already!!!

MUA Giveaway!!!

MUA Perfectly Pink Giveaway!

As part of this Perfectly Pink giveaway, one lucky winner will get the following items

  • MUA Pressed Powder – Shade 1
  • MUA Blusher – Shade 1
  • MUA Lipstick – Shade 4
  • MUA Nail Varnish – Shade 12
045

Perfectly Pink Giveaway @ sharonsree.wordpress.com

Now this giveaway is open to anyone with a Malaysian address. All you have to do is be a follower of this blog ( you can do so by clicking on the Follow tab and entering your email address) and then drop me your email address once again in the comment section below. Yup, easy right…. Since this blog is awfully new…and I’m only just learning the ropes I’m letting this giveaway run for a month, so closing date will be the 15th of April 2013 and one lucky winner will be picked. Announcement will follow soon after.

As I mentioned earlier, this being my first giveaway and all is a little daunting as I have no idea what the response will be like so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a good show and counting on your support  🙂 So until later, signing off and wishing you an Amazing weekend ahead !!!

 

35 thoughts on “MUA Review & GIVEAWAY

    • Hi Laura, Thanks for the heads up!!! I remember reading your first Wonderbox review back in January and what struck me was the absolutely amazing way you have of keeping a reader engaged… loved your pictures too.. Hang in there!!! Blogging can be daunting at first, it took me a whole month before I had the guts to publish my first post…haven’t looked back since 🙂

  1. Hey Sharon,

    Thank you for your kind words. Coming from someone whom I cyber-stalk on a regular basis is a real confidence booster. I hope to see your blog grow by the day. *that means more giveaways* hehe

  2. Hope I could win this giveaway….
    want to try MUA cosmetic 4 a long time…
    Btw, nice blog. ♥ ur beautybox &cosmetic review

  3. Hi all, Just a gentle reminder…you have to be a follower of this blog to be eligible for this Giveaway!!! To do so click on the Follow tab either on the top right hand corner or at the bottom of the page/post. You will then have to confirm your subscription by responding to the follow up confirmation which will be emailed to your specified email address. 🙂

  4. Great information… I’m new to beauty box stuff and providing such detail information really a good job….
    Giveaway idea also superb… Hope to have a chance to try this brand….

  5. Hi Sharon,

    Firstly, congrats on your first giveaway! How exciting =)

    I’m so jealous at your haul.. You got all those stuff at a steal, plus free shipping! Lucky girl you..

    Anyway, been reading up on your blog for a while now and lovin’ your reviews.. You managed to try out all the items in your haul so quickly!! I can imagine how stoked you were when you received the package..

    Anyway, keep it up dear!

    E-mail: theglossyallure@gmail.com

  6. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m
    book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great
    blog and amazing design.

  7. Hi Ladies, Thank You for participating and for all the kind words of encouragement <3. On another note,this GIVEAWAY is officially closed and the winner will be announced shortly… stay tuned 🙂

  8. Ok so here it is..the winner of my first ever GIVEAWAY..chosen by random.org
    Drum Roll……..*anticipation* and it is
    List Randomizer
    There were X items in your list. Here they are in random order:
    1. imafulltimemummy@gmail.com
    Timestamp: 2013-04-17 04:08:17 UTC

    Hurrah!!! Congratulations Jenny, you’re the lucky lady to walk away with MUA’s perfectly pink beauty products…please email me at (sha1ree@yahoo.com) your mailing address so that I can arrange to mail out the items to you.
    N/B: To be fair to all ..do note that I will hold the prize for the next seven(7) days only, if it isnt claimed by then, the prize goes to the next person on the list..so hurry and get in touch,k 🙂

    To the rest of you, I cant thank you enough for being a part of this Giveaway….As a newbie to the world of blogging it it so heartwarming to know that someone out there reads your work. And so because you are all so very much appreaciated, I am glad to announce let you know that I will be having another Giveaway to be announced soon, where not 1 but 2 lucky ladies will walk away with a trio of Essence products. So until I get my camera kit and pictures together … stay tuned and check this blog for updates.

Leave a Reply

