Bag of Love, May 2013 – Of Elegant Bags and Timeless Surprises

Hello Beautiful, I hope mid-week has been amazing for the lot of us. Todays hot topic is the Bag of Love and the contents of the May 2013 BOL. Now I’m sure for those of you keeping up with my blog, you’ll know that I’m a subscriber of the BOL which means come rain or shine I’ll have a unique bag delivered right to my doorstep every month. As a bonus, this month I received 2 bags…. Woots!!! How exciting right?!! The other bag was a complimentary bag sent by Mimi Teh, the Founder of Bag Of Love who decided to reward the bloggers involved with the Butterfly Projects – April Bag Of Love Project.

Bag Of Love’s theme for the month of May was Best of Beauty and in keeping with theme Mimi selected an elegant cream bag embossed with the Bag of Love in off gold lettering to showcase her May treats. Now this bag is so elegant, I’ am soooo glad I have two of it. I’m keeping one and giving away the other as I know the recipient will also think the bag is as fab as I do.

This is what my 4 year old had to say "mommy, this bag is so bee-o-tiful"

This is what my 4 year old had to say “mommy, this bag is so bee-o-tiful” … he sure has good powers of observation 🙂

So we all know that I’m a big sucker for bags and that I’m totally sold on the idea that Bag of Love comes out with an unique design each month. But lets take a look at the beauty products featured inside to see if it lives up to its theme.

Welcome Note from and elegantly dressed caricature of Mimi thanking her subscribers for 3 months of support.

Welcome Note from and elegantly dressed caricature of Mimi thanking her subscribers for 3 months of support.

On the flip side, product list and retail values

On the flip side, product list and retail values

Hmm, wish I could show you a picture of the products inside the bag, but I’ve tried it so many times and the pictures never turn out as expected, so am going to skip that and go on to list the items received and then feature the products one by one 🙂

  1. Crabtree & Evelyn Somerset Meadow Hand Therapy, 25g (full size) – RM 30
  2. Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum, 7 caps – RM 320/60caps
  3. Dove Beauty Nourishing Body Wash, 200ml (full size) – RM 6.90
  4. Kerastase Bain Oleo-Relax Shampoo & Masque, 30ml bottle and 15ml X 2 Sachet – RM 78/250ml
  5. Calvin Klein Eternity, EDP – Sample Vial – RM254/50ml
  6. Calvin Klein Eternity for Men, EDT – Sample Vial – RM 209/50ml

Also included were some very generous vouchers

  • Complimentary Basic Manicure worth RM 38 for BOL Subscribers
  • Crabtree & Evelyn 20% off toiletrie products
  • Calvin Klein Eternity for Men, EDT 50ml at 119 (43% savings off RM 209)
Crabtree & Evelyn, Somerset Meadow Ultra Moisturizing Hand Therapy - Also included a complimentary sachet of C&E Lavender Body Lotion

Crabtree & Evelyn, Somerset Meadow Ultra Moisturizing Hand Therapy – Also included a complimentary sachet of C&E Lavender Body Lotion

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum

Dove Beauty Nourishing Body Wash

Dove Beauty Nourishing Body Wash

Kerastase Bain Oleo Relax Shampoo and Masque

Kerastase Bain Oleo Relax Shampoo and Masque

Eternity for Men & Women Sample Perfume Vial

Eternity for Men & Women Sample Perfume Vial

Bag of Love May 2013 Edition

Bag of Love May 2013 Edition

Vouchers Galore

Vouchers Galore

Elizabeth Arden… Woots!!  so love the Ceramide Capsules. I’m a big fan of Elizabeth Arden and am owner to quite a host of her make up and skin care products but have never tried the Ceramide capsules figuring I might do so when my skin gets a little more mature. Anyway, since I now have 2 sets of these capsules = 14 – 3 (already used) caps and read on a fellow bloggers site that I can keep a capsule for a two applications (Thanks Kay!!!) so that means I have a 22 day supply … Woo Hoo … will see how this works and let you ladies, know.

Crabtree & Evelyn are also a firm favorite, I love them as much as I do L’Occitane and have a wide range of their bath and body products. As for the Somerset Meadow range, I find that this hand therapy does live up to its name of ultra moisturizing, my skin drank this up like it was parched. Not too keen on the strong scent though, but the scent does fade off a little after a while.

Kerastase is also one of my staples. I adore Kerastase products and they work wonders for my hair, so was really glad to see the Oleo – Relax range featured here. Have yet to use the samples as I’m not a big fan of samples and keep them for trips so this one will be tried soonest in the future. As for Dove, I don’t know why but I’m honestly not a Dove fan. I’m not kidding I have never purchased a bottle of their shampoo or conditioner or even a bar of soap because I for some unknown reason feel they’re a lot of hype. I have though over the years received so many Dove samples from Pharmacies and as gifts from product purchases and have used them almost reluctantly. They’re good but not great….. This bottle will also go to someone who loves Dove and they are many who swear by their efficacy including my mother 🙂

The CK perfume samples were also a thoughtful extra, I will probably give the male variant to my husband to try. As for Eternity for women, it has a strong floral smell, not really my kind of scent but I love keeping this perfume samples in my handbag for a quick scent-me-up when I’m out all day, so much appreciated.

All in all, I thought this was a pretty good effort by Mimi and her team. I cant thank her enough for the Elizabeth Arden and Crabtree & Evelyn products featured in this bag as I feel they are not only premium but definitely brand names a lot of ladies would love to see in a beauty bag/box. Am already looking forward to the June Bag of Love that will feature a summer theme. Have already seen sneak peeks of the bag and it looks amazingly cute with a button badge of Mimi too. For those of you keen to try a Bag of Love of your own, head on here or to find out more on the June BOL and for sneak peeks head on here. Until later this is me signing off for now, take care and see you beauties soon!!!

3 thoughts on “Bag of Love, May 2013 – Of Elegant Bags and Timeless Surprises

    • Hahah…. I know it seems a bit much isn’t it?!! Anyway am rethinking my subscription from July onwards, having a hard time figuring which one’s to keep and which to let go 😦

      • NO….there’s no such thing as too much when it comes to girly treats *grin* My personal fave would be TheLilacBox and Bag of Love. WonderBox would always be special because they were my first. But as much as I love getting my monthly packages, I’m thinking of taking a hiatus from beauty box subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

