Laura Mercier – Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

The first time I read about Laura Mercier was in The Star, a Malaysian daily newspaper. I can hazily remember the article, it had to do with make-up advice and a giveaway of Laura Mercier make up products. Now, who does not love Giveaway’s right… I did but procrastination never had me join but the brand name stuck. Some years down the road, I was once again reacquainted with Laura Mercier the brand and this time around I decided to give the products a try after reading so many good reviews on the internet.

Laura Mercier is not only the founder of Laura Mercier Cosmetics, she is also a world-renowned makeup artist serving as personal makeup to A-List celebrities such as Sarah Jessica Parker, Julia Roberts, and Juliette Binoche.

In 1996, Laura developed Laura Mercier Cosmetics to benefit women of all ages and skin types. She personally created the colors to satisfy the needs of her clients, based on a classic and always-current palette, rather than seasonal trends only. The line, now in its thirteenth year, is now available in almost 1,122 stores in 27 countries  and  has received numerous accolades from customers and magazine editors alike. In fact her Tinted Moisturizer is repeatedly being named in magazine ‘Best Of’ awards and that is why today I want to share with you my review on this amazing product among others.

Firstly I will start off with introducing Laura Mercier’s Foundation Primer. Now primers are getting more serious attention these days. I did not know what a primer was 10 years ago much less used one until a couple of years ago. Basically what primer does, is that it creates a layer between your skin and foundation pretty much prepping your skin like a canvas so that your make-up stays fresher, stay on longer and does not look oily at the end of the day.

IMG_7368 IMG_7369

Primer is white in colour, extremely lightweight and is absorbed very well by the skin.

Primer is white in colour, extremely lightweight and is absorbed very well by the skin.

So this is my skin after applying the primer. Goes on sheer, no residue whatsoever and creates an invisible layer between skin and makeup.

So this is my skin after applying the primer. Goes on sheer, no residue whatsoever and creates an invisible layer between skin and makeup.

Since I hardly use foundation, i do not use this primer as much as I should. The times I have used it, it has done a fantastic job of keeping my make up in place. The only boo boo I feel is that this primer has a 6 month shelf life once opening, so it is pretty wasted on people like me who use foundation occasionally.  But in terms of efficacy it does live up to it’s claim and for that I give it a 7/10.

Ok, so now we get to the Tinted Moisturizer. For a while now I have been using LM’s Tinted Moisturizer spf 20 and I have to say this is one product I cannot live without. Really!! When I first used it I was not expecting much, a lot of tinted moisturizers have not really worked for me before. A lot of Asian brands had colours that were way to light to match with my skin tone, whilst those brands that did always had a formulation that was either too heavy or sticky or both.

So when I used this I was really pleasantly surprised that non of the above happened. Finally here was a product that moisturized my skin, offered tinted coverage that suited my skin tone and also was lightweight and did not weigh my skin down.  I also realized that this was an amazing substitute for the foundations I do not wear. If you did not already know, I’m a stay at home mom and that means I’m pretty much always at home or on the road in this hot and humid weather which totally does not brood well for foundation. But LM’s tinted moisturizer works so well it provides coverage akin to a light application of foundation.

IMG_7370

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

Tinted Moisturizer Swatch in Almond

Tinted Moisturizer Swatch in Almond

Half of my hand with the tinted moisturiser on and half without

Half of my hand with the tinted moisturizer on and half without

This is how I look with Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer on

This is how I look with Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer on

Now I reckon I would have done better to have chosen a slightly darker tone of tinted moisturizer. This colour does work well but a darker tone would have been better. Not to worry, I love this tinted moisturizer soo much and use it soo regularly I’m going to need another tube fairly soon.  Since this works so well for me I’m giving it a 9/10.

Ok, so the tinted moisturizer is on and nearly always, this is how i like it. I dont finish with loose powder unless I have to doll up for an event or something equally as exciting. But today since I have my Laura Mercier Mineral Finishing Powder, I will put some on to show you how this works for me.

LM’s Mineral Finishing Powder comes in 2 shades… transparent or tinted. So you’ve already spotted the boo boo. Whilst the tinted version is meant for deeper skin tones, mine must be a little too deep so it looks too bright on my face.

Laura Mercier Mineral Finishing Powder in Tinted

Laura Mercier Mineral Finishing Powder in Tinted

With Mineral Finishing Powder on top of Tinted Moisturizer on one half of the hand

With Mineral Finishing Powder on top of Tinted Moisturizer on one half of the hand

Packaging could have been better. I tend to have too much powder even with a tiny shake so just in case keep a puff above to avoid wastage.

Packaging could have been better. I tend to have too much powder even with a tiny shake so just in case keep a puff above to avoid wastage.

One man or rather woman show... make up artist, phtographer all rolled into one.

One man or rather woman show… make up artist, photographer all rolled into one.

And here I am with the Tinted Mineral Finishing Powder above the Tinted Moisturizer

And here I am with the Tinted Mineral Finishing Powder above the Tinted Moisturizer

I like the texture of the Mineral Finishing Powder, it goes on well, I just wish it was available in more darker shades. The other point to note is that it does not come with a puff or brush so you will have to find one of your own.  Even though I generally use a brush to apply loose powder I keep a puff just below the lid to mop up all the extra powder and I use that on my neck to even out the skin tone. As for points, this one gets a 7/10 from me… it would definitely score higher if it was available in more shades.

So there it is my review on Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer, Foundation Primer and Mineral Finishing Powder. Do you have any experience using Laura Mercier Products..do share with me your thoughts…I would love to hear them 🙂

Laura Mercier Products are available in Bangsar Village II as well as selected Parkson outlets nationwide.

 Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer RM 153/40ml

 Foundation Primer RM119/50ml

Laura Mercier Mineral Finishing Powder – RM 120/12gm

 

 

4 thoughts on “Laura Mercier – Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

  1. Hai sharon,

    I hv a combination skin.. Oily on my tzone. Do u think ths tinted mosituriser is suitable fr my skin considering our hot & humid weather here in kl?

    Luv yr review on this. Take care 😄

    • Hi Yanti,
      Thank so much and it’s so great to hear from you. You know I’ve tried many products especially tinted BB Creams but this is the first one to work for me. I too have combination skin and since I spend a good part of my day outdoors, my face tends to oil up at mid-day. But I personally like this moisturizer because it is so easy to apply, lightweight and best of all does not slide off that easily. I reckon if you work in a a/c environment this would be great as it will keep the whole day. However if you have dry skin, the texture might be too drying for you. One more point to note though is to choose the right colour. Do a skin test by applying a sample on your facial skin and not just on your back of your hand and see if it works for you. (I actually apply two different tones on each side of my face to see which one works )
      p/s : if you look at the close up picture of my face, you will see that I’m actually perspiring on my nose, the great thing is even if you dab it off with a tissue or blotter paper, the colour does not come off easily )

Leave a Reply

