Of Adventures In Foreign Lands & Travel Must-Haves

I had the opportunity to do a bit of travelling during the recent school holidays and this was the second time, hubby and myself decided not take the kids along. Oh, how I missed my munchkins but I made it up by shopping for them big time and hence I packed very minimally – toiletries included. Now I travel quite a bit and over the years I have come to realize that when you’re abroad and on the move you don’t really have time to get all dolled up in the morning before starting on your daily adventures. Having said that, I also do not carry any full size items with me because 1)they’re way too heavy 2)it might leak during the trip 3) I need more space for items purchased in my shopping spree ๐Ÿ˜›

So this time around I took what I absolutely had to. Products that I have come to love and trust and that come in fantastic small packages ideal for a week or in this case 10 days abroad. But first I had to find ย a bag that could house all my products and endure the trials of being smashed in a over-full suitcase. And guess what, the answer came to me in one the 2nd edition of Bag of Love. Bag of Love’s Green Bag for May was ideal for this task. I was surprised at the number of items it could fit in and still had some room left for any last minute additions.

Anybody want to take a guess on how many items fit in this bag....

Anybody want to take a guess on how many items fit in this amazing bag….

This extremely durable bag held all this in place  :)

This extremely durable bag held all this in place ๐Ÿ™‚

So the final tally here is items

So the final tally here is 14 beauty products but that’s not all I also put in a travel pack of make up wipes and 2 perfume vials which i finished and disposed off.

What an amazing bag right…. so lets make a list of what I absolutely had to take, as over timeย I have found that this products absolutely work for me.

  1. Wild Ferns Manuka Honey Conditioning Hand Creamย 
  2. O’slee Rosehip Hydra White Cleansing Powder
  3. Schwarzkopf Professional Essensity Natural Shine Serum
  4. Hada Labo UV Moist Emulsion SPF 50++
  5. Pure South Fresh Goat’s Milk Body Lotion
  6. Skinlab, Nature’s l@b Antioxidant Body Scrub
  7. Decleor Hydra Floral Moisturizing Cream
  8. Sampar Vivid Radiance Serum
  9. Benefit They’re Real Mascara
  10. Kiss Me Heroine Impact Eyeliner
  11. Stage Wonderbalm Lip Care
  12. MUA Lipstick
  13. Kerastase Chroma Riche Shampoo
  14. Kerastase Chroma Riche Treatment Masque

Not in picture

  1. Biore Cleansing Oil In Cotton Travel Wipes
  2. Guerlain La Peteite Robe Noire Perfume Vial
  3. Calvin Klein Sheer Beauty Perfume Vial
My travel Must - Have's ... Tested and Truly Loved !!!

My travel Must – Have’s … Tested and Truly Loved !!!

So that was what I absolutely had to take !! The only full size item that could not fit in the bag was Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer. As some of you may know most of the beauty products featured here came from the various beauty box/bag subscriptions I subscribe to. ย These are products I have tried, tested and come to love because they really do a wonderful job of caring for my skin and glam-ming me up and best of all did not take a lot of space. In fact all items were less that 100ml and could have easily been taken onboard as well (which I did as I had too much stuff in my check in luggage on the way back).

So this is me for now … hope you enjoyed this post and do drop a line telling me what are your travel must-have’s !!!

At the bridge where they filmed PS: I Love You - Ireland

At the bridge where they filmed PS: I Love You – Ireland

Right outside the canal stop at the Main Train Station - Amsterdam, Netherlands

Right outside the canal boat stop at the Main Train Station – Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

17 thoughts on “Of Adventures In Foreign Lands & Travel Must-Haves

  1. I have a non-exemplary habit of leaving everything behind and forget the world whenever I travel. *bad* But I know better now to never leave the house or country without a decent sunscreen…And my newfound love: Nuxe, Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Usage Dry Oil.

    Can share more pics from your travel ah? ;-p

    • Well travelling is all about exploring the world and unless you’re out to meet someone on a hot date… some things we can do without but yes…never leave home without the sunscreen. I keep my hada labo in my handbag and put some on just before leaving the house to pick up No.2 from kindy at mid-day… Picture’s ah?….very self conscious lah…maybe of the surrounding scenery then ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Awww babe, looks like you had heaps of fun there. The weather seems divine!
    And how cool that you were at the location where P.S I Love You was shot at. One of the my favourite rom movies ever!

    Anyway, it’s crazy how spacious BoL is. Imagine all those products actually fits in one bag! Haha.

    See ya soon dearie! Can’t wait! =)

    • Was a good trip…loved the drive up to the mountains ..it’s such a sight…hahah..PSILU is also on my top 10 of best movies ever, though i might have written a few scenes differently ๐Ÿ˜› …

  3. Wow…you holiday trip sure looks like fun…
    I have 3 little munchkins too…therefore no time to go on holiday trip alone with hb and be in the foreign lands.
    My must have traveling essentials are sunscreen, eyeliner, lip balm and moisturizer. Thatโ€™s about it.

    • Wow..3 precious ones too!!! How lovely.. i can imagine it would be impossible to go very far alone with the hubster especially if they’re very young… and you’re list pretty much matches mine… that’s what I have in my handbag except i keep a lipstick instead of lip balm ๐Ÿ™‚
      P/S: has Mr. Postman come by already?!!!

      • Yup…and the youngest is the most clingiest to me… So it would be really impossible…
        Perhaps in a few more years time…
        Yes…Mr Postman came already…
        Just when I was thinking of getting myself a brown eyeliner, and you gave one to me… How nice…
        I love it and I can’t wait to get home and try it on…

  4. I can pack less clothing but I HAVE to bring BB Cream, brow powder and lipstick along when I travel. I call this combo my ‘face in a bag’. I feel positively naked without these.
    Did you pick up any cool beauty products while abroad? I love picking up beauty products from different countries. Have you ever been to HK? There is a Sasa or Bonjoir on every corner and they sell lots of big brands in full and deluxe sample sizes. I go crazy over there.

    • Ooh, I absolutely do.. this time around I got quite a bit of body care products but am still trying to find the time to use it..as for shopping in HK…it’s amazing. I love that they have a SASA at every metro stop too. I picked up quite a bit of Estee Lauder & ELizabeth Arden make up and perfume’s during a trip there a couple of years ago. But my absolute favorite had to be Citygate…if only I had more than one pair of hands ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. you make me freaking miss Ireland….when I travel I jus grab whatever travel size product I have and bring along..oh yes I love the hada labo face milk lotion too….Phew I jus landed from BKK and thank god the sunscreen help protect me from the hot sun!!!!!!!!

    • Glad you had a fantastic time in BKK…cant wait to see all the pictures ans read about the experience. I know I love the Hada Labo Face Moist Emulsion soo much i go everywhere with it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

