Wonderbox – June 2013 Black Ribbon Edition

I love month – ends.. because that’s when the bulk of my Beauty Box/Bag subscriptions come in… Last month was no different and my console table out front is overwhelmed by the number of packages waiting to be opened and enjoyed !!!

Today I thought I’d share with you about my WonderBox experience. For those of you who have been reading my blog you know only too well that I’ve been subscribing to WonderBox forever, by forever I mean all but their initial debut box. Over the months, WonderBox has provided many ‘Wonder’s’ in a Box and I’ve truly enjoyed every one of their boxes.

Now this month I opened my WonderBox a little later than usual…Having said that I saw that there were some hit’s and some misses. Having also spoken to some other WonderBox subscribers I sensed that not everyone was too excited with their June WonderBox…how about me? Well…read on to find out.

I received the Black Ribbon edition !!!

I received the Black Ribbon edition !!!

Summer Is In :)

Summer Is In 🙂

Product Itemization sans the Retail Prices. Got my information from wonderbox.com.my

Product Itemization sans the Retail Prices. Got my information from wonderbox.com.my

Vouchers from Kado & Murad

A couple of Vouchers

Un-Boxed WonderBox June 2013 - Black Ribbon Edition

Un-Boxed WonderBox June 2013 – Black Ribbon Edition

Now as always..lets make a list of all the items I’ve received as well as their retail values

  1. Beautymate Purifying and Hydrating Nano Toner (Full Size) – RM 49.90
  2. Murad Pomergranate Exfoliating Mask, 1pcs – RM 66/6pcs (RM 11)
  3. Ginvera Green Tea Whitening Marvel Gel, 8ml – RM 38/60ml (RM5)
  4. Neutrogena Hydro Boost Intensive Hydrating Mask (full size) – RM13.90/per pc or RM 55.90/5pcs
  5. AUPRES Aqua Active Sleeping Mask, 5g – RM95 for 80g (RM 5)
  6. AUPRES Ultimate White Extra Intensive Spot Serum, 5ml – RM150 for 30ml (RM 25)

I also received 2 vouchers

  • Murad – RM 30 off Murad Online Store
  • Kado New Hair Studio – 50% off All Hair Chemical Services

Beautymate Purifying and Hydrating Nano Toner

Beautymate Purifying and Hydrating Nano Toner

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Mask

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Mask

Murad Exfoliating Pomegranate Mask

Murad Exfoliating Pomegranate Mask

Ginvera Green Tea Whitening Marvel Gel

Ginvera Green Tea Whitening Marvel Gel

IMG_9034

Aupres Sleeping Mask & Intensive Spot Corrector

Ok… so those were the items in my WonderBox.. to be honest this box did not blow me away as WonderBox’es usually do.  I liked that they included Neutrogena and Murad Mask’s… I love these masks so can’t say no to them but really this was pretty much a repetition of previous boxes. Good to see the Beautymate Toner in full size but the other items did not ‘wow’ me this time around.

My other peeve is really the value of the box too, subscribers who received the purple ribbon edition got in my opinion a better deal. They received the same items from No.1 – 3 but instead of the Neutrogena Mask and Aupres Trial Set, they received a full size Neutrogena Hydro Boost Night Concentrate Sleeping Pack, 50gm(full size) – RM 58.60 and L’Oreals Liss Ultime Shampoo and Masque valued at RM 50 for both. That means while the Black Ribbon WonderBox is circa RM 109.8 which is about 2.5 X times the value of a WonderBox subscription at RM 45 the Purple Ribbon edition values circa RM 174.50 which is nearly 4X the value of the WonderBox subscription.

So whilst I’m not taking this too much to heart..I do hope WonderBox looks at the value of the boxes in the future so as to not give loyal customers a chance to dwell over Faux Pas like these. I got mine redeemed thru WonderPoints so I cant really complain but some of the other subscribers who paid full price would have liked to see something better.

On that note, I bid you adieu…. My next Giveaway will be announced soon..so stay tuned

2 thoughts on “Wonderbox – June 2013 Black Ribbon Edition

  1. Thanks for this review, Sharon. Haven’t subscribed to this Box yet and am just watching to see if the mix suits me. Still on the fence but I actually quite like what you got in this month’s box. A full-sized BeautyMate toner is great. I also like the Aupres items and you know what, I wouldn’t say no to a handy sheet mask or two now that I’ve tried it. I think this set is good for a first time subscriber who hasn’t received similar items/ brands yet.
    But, as you say, it does somewhat take the gloss off the whole experience in terms of value knowing there are two greatly varying sets being sent out to different subscribers (however random) . Shame you didn’t some more L’Oreal Liss Ultime Shampoo and Masque – read how much you love these!
    Wishing you many more beauty box blessings – may the force be with us so that we all get what we love, eh?

  2. Hi Sharon, I got the Purple ribbon and saw that the items are slightly better than the Black ribbon.
    The Black ribbon wonderbox does not blow me off my feet too!
    But…you get to go and try the Aupres mini facial if you have missed the previous from MIVVA.

Leave a Reply

