TGIF coz’ it’s Arts & Crafts Day!!!

I can’t say if you remember..but sometime ago I dabbled with the idea of putting up a weekly post of what I do with my kids… I tried to designate Friday as Arts & Crafts day at home at the beginning of the year as myself and the kids absolutely enjoy crafting and coming up with new creations. However somewhere along the way, other commitments and time constraints have limited the number of Fridays we got down to doing something.

I reckon however that if I consciously put up my first post I will be driven to make this a regular weekly event and thus keep you updated with what me and the kiddos are up to. To start off I thought I’d share with you something that we did a couple of months ago.

Now I love Fridays because it’s the end of the school week, that means no driving about umpteen times ferrying kids across town to school, kindergarten, activities, etc. My kiddos on the other hand love Fridays because it’s the end of the week so albeit some homework, they have 2 1/2 days off to loll about doing what they ‘want to do’ …. anyway since Friday is also Arts & Crafts Day at our home they know they have an activity to look forward to when they get back.

The activity for that Friday was a simple one, I had picked out some paper craft from the local DIY store and got the kids to come up with their own attempts of recreating a bird or on this case 2 parrots and an owl.

I used a brand called POPs Crafts... got this set at Mr. DIY for RM 2.90

I used a brand called POPs Crafts… got this set at Mr. DIY for RM 2.90

I wish i took some pictures of the set before I started the way I usually do with my beauty products however the kiddos had little or no patience when I whipped out the package..so lesson to be learned… take pictures in secret ahead of time πŸ˜›

Anyway basically the set came with 3 bird templates, loads of smaller parts to be affixed to the main body, loads of stickers and a roll of double-sided tape… Quality wise the paper was excellent..stickers were too..vibrant colours and pretty details.. my only gripe was with the double-sided tape… it did not do justice to the quality featured on the rest of the items.. As this was my first time using this brand I did not know.. but once again lesson learned will use my own choice of double-sided tape the next time around.

The kiddos assembling their birdy's... Ana & Ahrayn chose the parrots whilst Ahrjun opted for the owl.

The kiddos assembling their birdy’s… Ana & Ahrayn chose the parrots whilst Ahrjun opted for the owl.
If you looks closely you can see the full set of items that came from the package…

Ahrayn peeling off some tape for his project while Ahrjun is busy putting his together

Ahrayn peeling off some tape for his project while Ahrjun is busy putting his together

Here Ana is deep in concentration as she puts the finishing touches on her parrot

Here Ana is deep in concentration as she puts the finishing touches on her parrot

Ana with her completed parrot... you can see the careful detailing on the wings all with the lovely stickers provided.

Ana with her completed parrot… you can see the careful detailing on the wings all with the lovely stickers provided.

Ahrayn with his parrot... his interpreation calls for alittle less stickers :)

Ahrayn with his parrot… his interpretation calls for a little less stickers πŸ™‚

Ahrjun with his owl ...he got a little help from me but essentially it was his idea on what goes where.

Ahrjun with his owl …he got a little help from me but essentially it was his idea on what goes where.

So we finished the project in little over half and hour and then it hit me that I needed to feature their work somewhere..usually with drawings I pop in onto the kitchen fridge but since this birds were so colourful Β I thought it would be extra nice to put them on the entrance door…

The kiddos art work gracing the front door :)

The kiddos art work gracing the front door πŸ™‚

I really liked this crafting project and I know they absolutely loved it too.. I would definitely recommend this brand but as mentioned earlier, do use a better quality double-sided tape otherwise some of the parts will come apart too quickly. Β On that note, this is me signing off for now hoping you enjoyed this post which is quite different from my usual fare. Until later …Here’s to a great week ahead.

4 thoughts on “TGIF coz’ it’s Arts & Crafts Day!!!

  1. So cute! It’s so cool you’re doing this with the bubs! Should totally do more. You look so young to have three kids…all big and beautiful too. Adorable post!

    • Hi ShopGirl… Thank You, Thank You πŸ™‚ Been hankering for this for a while and am glad I got down to do it… hopefully this continues as a weekly thingy πŸ™‚

    • Hi Kiran, Thanks and yes the name of the store is called Mr. DIY..I usually go to the one in Bandar Puteri..behind Loving Hut row..I know there’s also one in Taman Megah ..along the same row as Marco’s Pizza.

Leave a Reply

