Deep Clean With Neutrogena & WonderBox

I wonder how many of you remember your first purchase of a certain item… I can … perhaps because I have the compulsion to store little bits of information … nowhere near the eidetic memory of  of Dr. Spencer Reid but it’s not too bad either.

Anyway I say this because I can vividly remember my first ever scrub purchase…. 17 and fresh out of high school and yes a little late if you consider the beauty and fashion forwardness of today’s informed young ladies.. I decided that a scrub was so in order for my oily complexion at that time…. so i set out to my then only neighborhood pharmacy Guardian to find something that could set me on the straight path. I peeked along the aisles, glanced unknowingly at labels , hee-hawed at the price of some items and then finally made a decision…what was that? Well after close to an hour perusing the scrub section I finally decided that it was going to be the Neutrogena Deep Clean Gentle Scrub. Needless to say after scrubbing myself silly..something I do to this day.. I was very happy with this product and over the year that followed added their cleanser and toner to my daily routine.

Neutrogena Deep Clean

Fast forward umpteen years later, and I’m back to the point where I first started. This time though I have the delight of looking at some of Neutrogena’s latest offerings, once again from their Deep Clean line, the Pink Grapefruit Series. Thanks to the lovely people of WonderBox Malaysia, one of Malaysia’s pioneer Beauty Box Subscriptions and all around favourite.. once again I get to re-live the Neutrogena experience.

Wonderbox Pink Ribbon <3

WonderBox Pink Ribbon ❤

Pink Grapefruit Ultra Foam Cleanser and Revitalising Face Scrub

Pink Grapefruit Ultra Foam Cleanser and Revitalizing Foaming Scrub

The Pink Grapefruit Duo- Dermatologist Tested, Non Comodegenic & Oil Free

The Pink Grapefruit Duo- Dermatologist Tested, Non Comodegenic & Oil Free

Now Neutrogena have been around for a very long time. Founded in 1930 and headquartered in Los Angeles, USA. Today Neutrogena is part of the Johnson & Johnson group of companies. Said to be the #1 Dermatologist Recommended skincare brand, they offer a wide range of skin and hair care products across 70 countries.

I started off with the Pink Grapefruit Ultra Foam Dispenser. Ultra Foam? Yes, I asked myself the exact same question…. anyways you’ll have to try it to see it. Two pumps of this is enough to produce a light,fluffy concoction of foam that just glides on your skin for effective removal of oil and impurities. Effective, very much so.. I have been using this for 2 weeks and while I am not a big fan of grapefruit scent I can see that my skin is looking a lot brighter and feels so much better.

Nuetrogena Pink Grapefruit Ultra Foam Cleanser

Nuetrogena Pink Grapefruit Ultra Foam Cleanser, 175ml

It's said to effectively remove 99% of oil, dirt and impurities

It’s said to effectively remove 99% of oil, dirt and impurities

Light & Fluffy foam, so gentle on the skin

Light & Fluffy foam, so gentle on the skin

As for the Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub, this I’ve used every other day. This is a clear liquid with tiny pink and white microbeads. It is pretty reminiscent of it’s earlier offering the Deep Clean Facial Scrub, in the sense that is gives a good scrub without tearing at the skin or being too rough. I like how the beads slip into the crevices of my skin hereinafter referred to as pores and give it a thorough cleansing. The final effect is very clean skin, it’s as if you know there’s no dirt or grime left behind… This one is a little stronger though..so unless you’re always sweating away in the gym or spending loads of time outdoors and clogging up your pores, this one would do very nicely for every alternate day. I’ve popped this into my Gym Bag and it’s been serving me very well.

Neutrogena Revitalizing Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub

Neutrogena Revitalizing Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub, 100gm

Pink Grapefruit Formula that helps eliminate dead skin cells  for younger-looking and healthy skin

Pink Grapefruit Formula that helps eliminate dead skin cells for younger-looking and healthy skin

Clear liquid infused with grapefruit fruit extract and white and pink microbeads for a clean refreshing scrub

Clear liquid infused with grapefruit fruit extract and white and pink microbeads for a clean refreshing scrub

Gently foamed up with a little water, milky white emulsion

Gently foamed up with a little water.

So if you’re looking to try the Nuetrogena Pink Grapefruit series, head on to your nearest Pharmacy. I saw this being retailed at Guardian for RM 25.90 for the foam and RM 18.90 for the scrub and because Guardian is having their holidays sales..there are discounts on both items.  I’m looking to try out their Mulberry series next as I love purple and cant wait to indulge in some purple perfection

As for WonderBox, they have just announced that they will be introducing their new baby very soon. Labelled the Little Black Box, this mystery box has yet to be unraveled. But until then if you have not already done so, do check out their Monthly Beauty Box Subscriptions. Taking you on a journey of beauty discovery with a parcel on your doorstop every month, their monthly subscriptions are priced at RM 45 a month. Check them out at their website here or to connect with them on Facebook, do so here

Little Black Box

On that note here I am signing off for now but not before I thank both WonderBox Malaysia and Neutrogena for giving me this awesome opportunity to try out an experience beauty favorites.  As for the rest of you… here’s to a bright beautiful start of the week 🙂

10 thoughts on “Deep Clean With Neutrogena & WonderBox

  1. How cute, Neutrogena was also my first ever ‘fancy’ soap! I actually got it in a bar because I had terribly allergic skin and was recommended to me at the time by a doctor. Come to think of it, it has been a long time since I’ve used Neutrogena. I really like the pink of these two products that you’ve reviewed, Sharon. I’m a die-hard J&J gal and had no idea that Neutrogena was actually under J&J.

    • ShopGirl, 17 was like a coming out year for me… I had a part time job so all that extra cash to spend… and you’re absolutely right, Neutrogena was definitely ‘fancy’ and cool to have on your bathroom shelf. Do you like J & J that much.. I may have something for you ?!!

      • I have very sensitive skin and find it difficult to tolerate skincare that is too expensive for some reason. What can I say, I have a cheap face LOL Anyway, I do believe it is because the skincare of the masses is usually designed to suit all skin types and probably contains more ‘safe’ and universally tame ingredients. J&J doesn’t harm me and it does the job and I feel safe with them. Like a security blanket. To be honest, before beauty boxes I rarely ventured to ‘sample territory’ but I’ve been more bold as a result of my subscription addiction and it’s honestly, quite liberating and exciting to try things I would have been scared to commit to in the full sizes. The Neutrogena of late is getting prettier and fancier if I must say so myself – pink grapefruit – how exotic!

    • Thanks Richa 🙂 … There seems to be 2 variants of this ..the US version is packaged a little differently but I reckon since India is so near ..you might find the Asian version in stores… Is the Neutrogena line available there? If it is then this series will probably soon be released there too

  2. Mulberry! It’s suddenly occurred to me that Tesco is open till 1am! If it’s gentle enough for use every other day, this is a scrub I definitely need to look into.
    My first was St. Ive’s apricot scrub and I was far later to the game than you were at the age of 20! I’m going to blame my pores on this!

    • Arpita, if you started at 20 it could only mean that you have trouble free skin… so lucky..do tell me how the Mulberry one works for you when you get it…. i like the packaging and glad that it’s the only thing that’s purple and not the liquid that goes in it 🙂

    • Hi Shivi, You’re right !!! They did a great job with the packaging…which girl wouldn’t fall in love with florals and pink. But what’s inside is also great if you have oily skin, though I’d reckon if you’re skin is bordering on dry it might be something you’d want to give a miss.

Leave a Reply

