Tales of Ipsy – September 2013 Glam Bag

Here are my chronicles ..yes my adventure’s with the world of Ipsy. It’s here that I’d like to do a comparison with our local Malaysian Beauty Bags/Boxes and see if we are really missing out on all that ‘Party in The USA’ kinda fun.

I actually stopped subscribing to our Malaysian Beauty Box/Bag’s about the time I started subscribing to both Ipsy and BirchBox. Thanks to my amazing brother-in-law who is now based in the US i get to also subscribe to the hallmark of beauty boxes and enjoy what the rest of Asian’s can only drool at from afar.

Between Ipsy and BirchBox, I can tell you that Ipsy is in a class of their own. I was sooo dismayed at the uninspiring products and samples I received in my Birchbox that i quit subscribing to them. In fact so disappointed am I that they don’t even warrant time on my post and it’s a chapter in subscribing that I am happy to put behind.

So then let’s have a look at what was in the first of my Ipsy Glam Bag’s. This one is from September and Michelle Phan is not called a genius for nothing.

Ipsy September 2013

Ipsy September 2013

  1. Elizabeth Mott – it’s so BIG – Volumizing Mascara
  2. NYX Single Eyeshadow – ES32 Purple
  3. Starlooks – Obsidian Kohl
  4. J. Cat Beauty Fantabulous Lipstick (not in picture as I’ve given this away)
  5. skyn Iceland – Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels
Elizabeth Mott - It's so BIG Volumizing Mascara

Elizabeth Mott – It’s so BIG Volumizing Mascara

NYX Single Eyeshadow

NYX Single Eyeshadow

Starlooks Obsidian Kohl Pencil

Starlooks Obsidian Kohl Pencil

skyn Iceland - Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels - 2 packs

skyn Iceland – Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels – 2 packs

J Cat Beauty

J Cat Beauty

Now really, what did you think? Do you think that Ipsy lived up to muster and put together an awesome bag? I thought so. For someone who has been looking at some variety in my beauty box/bag subscriptions, it was refreshing to see new brands to play with, more make up and full-sized at that and beauty products that I could actually use rather than put aside somewhere in my stash never to be seen again.

As for value, i really couldnt say as Ipsy doesn’t put a price on their items, but suffice to say after paying USD 10 about RM 33 I definitely get much much more on my investment.

I’m looking forward to trying out all these lovely make-up products and while I’m at it.. do stay tuned for more Tales of Ipsy. Until later Cheerio and Happy Chinese New Year to all of you… Gong Xi, Gong Xi

8 thoughts on “Tales of Ipsy – September 2013 Glam Bag

  1. Hello babe! Good to see you blogging again. The previous post doesn’t count because it’s not as drool-worthy as this one ;-p I only wish we could have a similar offering here in Malaysia. Some beauty companies are really opening up to the idea of brand marketing through beauty boxes but we have a long way to go. Can you do a full review on the mascara?

    • You’re right Ipsy as well as Birchbox rely quite heavily on repeat sponsors who are looking to get their brand name out to the masses.. what’s great is that they are better than average to start with which seems quite note-worthy. I’m just glad they’re reading my beauty profile and when I say no to shampoo’s ..they leave my hair well alone 🙂 Hugs babe..i know it’s a hard time for you with Beans and all.. here’s lots of love coming your way

  2. Good to see u blogging again..hoping to read more from you!! well i think it cant be compare in value term because stuff in usa is much more cheaper and with usd10 you can get a lot of stuff….as for new brand that is because it’s brand that we don’t have here in Malaysia and the only thing that excites me in this bag is it contains makeup item….beside that nothing much..just my honest opinion though..

    • Thanks Cindy, it’s a great feeling to be blogging again… I think the ideas of Holidays being restful must be a fallacy of sorts.. the only good about them is that i don’t have to drag myself out of bed at 6 in the morning… You have a point..makeup does inspire but perhaps it lacks the ‘wow’ factor for everyone.. I’m loving it big time though and glad i managed to snag one of these subscriptions something which i had to wait a good 6 months for on the waiting list 🙂

    • Arpita .. Pop Sugar, you enabler you 🙂 I must then do more research and put my Birchbox subs extra’s to good use no?!!! Yet to try skyn Iceland eye pads yet.. but this weekend seems like a good time as any… will let you know how they work out

  3. Definitely great value for RM33 and like you, I agree that this is a welcome change up from our local fare. Which reminds me, I still have a couple of overseas beauty boxes I need to review. Thanks for this review, Sharon and welcome back into the swing of things.

    • ShopGirl, I’m looking forward to reading up on what the rest of the world has to offer us in lieu of our common fare. Yes, at RM 33 I do a dance every-time i zip open one of these bags.. some of our subs are good value no doubt.. but i guess I’d just about had it with Shampoo and Conditioner of common or differing varieties popping up all the time all over the place…i dont have that much hair to start with so it’s a breath of fresh ‘hair’ when Ipsy reads my beauty profiles and does not send me what I really dont want 🙂

Leave a Reply

