Fun With Art & Craft – Children, Sewing and Skirt-ing the Issue

During the last school holidays, my daughter presented me with an idea. ‘She said to me Mommy, how about if I started sewing my own clothes, you wouldn’t have the buy any clothes for me and we could save a of money.’

Of course, being me I was very intrigued with this idea, not because i could save money but because it seemed to me my 9-year-old was more than ready to try on more challenging forms of crafting. Sewing is not easy..firstly because if you all thumbs like me, it takes ages but also because it requires a lot of concentration and detail to work.

But I didn’t deter her. Instead we went to our nearest Kamdar where we found a bin with scraps. It was a bin with a hodge-podge of colourful fabrics, some silks , some cotton and some polyester of varying yard lengths until finally she found the one that inspired her. A metre of dark blue ombre dotted with black polka’s cost us RM 0.90. Yes, parents it really doesn’t cost a lot to encourage your child’s creativity. If you have an idea in mind and know where to look, Creative Activities are a better and more fun way to spend an afternoon.

What you need to make a skirt

  1. Metre of cloth
  2. A reasonable length of elastic waistband ( bought mine for RM 1)
  3. Sharp scissor to cut cloth ( parents should use their discretion as to whether the child is ready to use scissors by themselves)
  4. Needle
  5. Spool of thread.
  6. Lots of creativity πŸ™‚
She started with cutting off the uneven bits on the cloth. Even though i was apprehensive about her using Big Sewing Shears, I let her try and she did very, very well

She started with cutting off the uneven bits on the cloth. Even though i was apprehensive about her using Big Sewing Shears, I let her try and she did very, very well

I can be the kind of mother who is toooooo overprotective, really there’s an argument for and against it. However, as I grow as a mother I have learned that there are times when you have to let your children experience new things by themselves and in that way they grow.

Initially I was apprehensive about her using big scissors and sharp needles… with a million and one things running thru my mind, What if she pricks herself ?, what if she cuts her finger? … but those are all what if’s and as long as you are prepared to be near and watch and offer gentle advice when necessary, children are so much more capable than we give them credit for.

Learning to hem the sides of the fabric... .Not an easy task as there are 4 sides !!!

Learning to hem the sides of the fabric… .Not an easy task as there are 4 sides !!!

So here were stitches... it was a little challenging at first but she soon got the hang of it.

So here were stitches… it was a little challenging at first but she soon got the hang of it.

This was her own idea entirely - to rutch the fabric to add dome style to the skirt :)

This was her own idea entirely – to rutch the fabric to add some style to the skirt πŸ™‚

And voila, the finished skirt. In my eyes, nothing short of BEAUTIFUL

And voila, the finished skirt. In my eyes, nothing short of BEAUTIFUL

081 - Copy

She was soo excited, she even wore it out to dinner that very night and got a lot of compliments too πŸ™‚

Other than acquiring a hip new handmade skirt , my daughter acquired a wealth of knowledge. She learned perseverance and tenacity, when she was tired and on the verge of giving up. She learned to be patient and detailed so that her stitches could be neater. And she learned that if you set your mind to it, you can achieve anything you want.

So what did I learn.. I learned that a child’s creativity is innate, and if you let it blossom, it will flourish and grow and equip a child with skills that will last a lifetime. On that note I bid you adieu and happy crafting.

8 thoughts on “Fun With Art & Craft – Children, Sewing and Skirt-ing the Issue

  1. awww……..love the skirt, its too cute!! she looks lovely in it πŸ™‚
    At least i know you’re all thumbs like me, so i don’t feel too bad about my sewing skills!
    I remember doing mummy-daughter projects with my mum, it was so much fun and i treasure those memories until today..
    Too bad I didn’t inherit my mums sewing skills, she could sew for a whole village, oh well, at least I inherited her baking skills, lol!
    Do post up more projects like these Sharon, I love reading your mummy-daughter activities! =)
    PS: Hows Yadah treating you? =D

    • I cant totally relate to you Shasha… we had to sew a skirt for Living Skills – KH when i was in form 3 and i got some major help from an aunt who doubles as a seamstress by night. Phew..had it not been for her.. i would have passed up what resembles wash cloth πŸ˜›

      I’m glad though that now thru the children I’m able to slowly explore my creative side… πŸ™‚

  2. Ariana is creativity personified.. It is amazing to see and experience how talented she is !! and you, Sharon, deserve a pat on your back, for being the supportive mom you are, that lets Ana nurture her skills!! πŸ™‚

  3. Your baby girl did a much better job than I ever did or will on a sewing project. So nice to see a mum who takes her daughter’s requests seriously and makes a lovely learning experience from it. I think it’s a great way to instil confidence and creativity in a child. She did so well and you deserve a pat on the back for encouraging her instead of just saying ‘no’ when that could have been the easier way out. You’re a top mum, Sharon!

    • Aww… That’s such a sweet thing to say ShopGirl. But i do agree..there are times that i just want to curl into a ball and fall asleep or just have an hour to read…but sacrificing my time now will undoubtedly enrich their lives for the better. You’re a big sister- i’m sure you would have had a quite similar experience yourself.

Leave a Reply

