Fun With Art & Craft – Storytime Puppets & GIVEAWAY

Hi Mommies & Daddies… It’s time for another Fun with Art & Craft post + there’s also a Giveaway (at the end of the post) I know I haven’t done an Art & Craft post in a while, but if you too live in Malaysia, you’ll probably understand that the month before the end of school terms are always the dreaded exam month. Anyway’s this time we ( mommy and kiddos) came out of it quite well.. the kids did their best and there are smiles all around.

The kids have been raring to start-up on another crafting project and this time around because I know holidays are around the corner, we decided to do Storytime Puppets. Now, I don’t need to tell you that kids love storytime… anything that allows a child’s imagination to take flight is nothing short of Amazing. But when you add puppets and props to storytime it becomes soo much more engaging and it allows the children to also play a part adding on to their skills and confidence.

As always being the Budget Crafter, I picked out something that wouldn’t burn a hole through my pocket or the pockets of any average Malaysian household. Aptly title Pop Stick Art, this set me back a mere RM 2. Yes, you heard that right, for my foreign readers, that’s 80 cents in USD.

photo 1

This set comes with 3 Animal Cut-Outs, a variety of stickers, mini double-sided tape and coloured sticks to mount the finished puppets on.

photo 2

Since this was a set with 3 animals in a pack (cow, giraffe and chicken) it was easy to split it up among my 3 children. They each picked one out and the older two had absolutely no problem following the instruction on the back of the pack to finish their individual puppets. My youngest boy needed some help from me as he chose the giraffe and it needed quite a bit of work attaching the neck and feet on.

photo 3

The kids loved this craft. As a mom I really liked it too, it was fun, safe and had minimal clan up after. The only thing which i didnt like was the quality of the double sided tape provided which wasnt heavy duty enough as the card stock is quite heavy. I replaced it with my own supply of double sided tape and that was more then perfect.

As for the puppets, they have been put to good use having been featured not only in some classic tales (The Musicians of Bremen), nursery rhymes (Old Mac Donald) and poems we read at night but they kids have been making up their own stories of late, some silly, some not and as a family we’ve had much delight with these puppets.

So mommies and daddies, do remember that crafting isn’t daunting or challenging and neither expensive. If you know how to look for suitable crafts Β and can allocate some time on a regular basis, crafting time becomes a great bonding activity for the whole family.

On that note, I have 2 sets of this Pop Stick Art to giveaway. Do note though that this Giveaway is open to anyone with a Malaysian mailing adress only and If you would like to win one for your child/children, just

  1. Drop me a comment with your name and email address as well as your child/children’s age ( not their names, just their ages) that’s all

And if you liked what you’ve read , do show me some ❀ by clicking LIKE on my FB page here

Giveaway runs until Sunday 25th May 2014 11.59pm and I’ll be picking two names out of a hat the next day. Winners will be given 48 hours to respond to my email after which I’ll be choosing another winner.

That’s all for now folks, do stay tuned though as I just stocked up on a whole lot of crafts in time for the holidays, Β so that means there’s going to be more Craft Giveaways soon. Until later, happy crafting πŸ™‚

To read up on earlier Fun with Art & Craft posts, click hereΒ πŸ™‚

 

 

21 thoughts on “Fun With Art & Craft – Storytime Puppets & GIVEAWAY

    • Thanks for joining Chris. I got this at a variety store in Banting . Super 99, am not too sure if they have similar branches elsewhere. But it’s worth a check as they have a good Art & Craft section.

  1. Thank You all for joining mummies.. have picked out two (2) winners and they are Judy Chow & Alisha Melissa Mah… Congratulations Mummies,… i will be emailing you shortly, please note you have 48 hours to reply before I choose another winner. And to the rest… dont worry, there’s more to be won… Another Giveaway to be announced shortly πŸ™‚

  2. Ok.. looks like I have to pick another winner as I did not get an email from Judy Chow.. so next name on that list is Mikichua. Mikichua will be emailing you shortly… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

